Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Blog Tour | Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain (Top 5 Reasons to Read)

I’m so excited to be a part of the Dark and Shallow Lies Blog Tour! Please remember to click the tour banner above or the schedule below to access the tour schedule. There are a lot of other amazing bloggers and bookstagrammers who are also a part of the tour.

Title: Dark and Shallow Lies
Author: Ginny Myers Sain
Publication date: August 31, 2021
Publisher: Penguin Teen
Pages: 432

Summary

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.


Ginny Myers Sain is the author of DARK AND SHALLOW LIES, her debut YA novel available 8-31-21 from Razorbill/Penguin. Although she comes from a long line of writers, her first love has always been the theatre. She has a degree in theatre and has spent most of her career teaching acting and directing plays and musicals. ​Ginny currently live in Tulsa, Oklahoma, with her teenage son and a very cowardly doberman named Shipley. When she is not working in the theatre or writing, you’re likely to find her listening to true crime podcasts, taking pictures of alligators, eating tacos, or planning a trip to Walt Disney World. 

Links
Website: https://www.ginnymyerssain.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/stageandpage
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ginnymyerssain/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/21109906.Ginny_Myers_Sain
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stageandpage


Rating: 3 out of 5.

5 Reasons to Read Dark and Shallow Lies

  1. A perfect Fall read! The story is eery and atmospheric.
  2. The setting! The story takes place in the “Psychic Capital of the World.” Who doesn’t want to read a story about psychics?!
  3. The mystery! A young girl is missing and a town full of psychics have no answers. It has been six months since Elora’s disappearance. Cops are baffled; there are no leads.
  4. The secrets! Everyone in this story has secrets, and it was interesting to see how the reveal of said secrets affected the main plot.
  5. The psychic powers! Although some characters have “traditional” psychic powers, other characters have powers that are more unique. I won’t spoil the psychic powers are mentioned in the book, but I will say that I thought some of the psychic powers were really cool and a very creative choice on Ginny Myers Sain’s part.

Where can I buy Dark and Shallow Lies?

You can buy Dark and Shallow Lies at your favorite local bookstore or through one of these links: AmazonBarnes & NobleBook DepositoryIndigo, or IndieBound.

Be sure to check out the rest of the TBR and Beyond’s blog tour for Dark and Shallow Lies! You can either click here or on the blog tour banner found above to see the other blogs that are participating in the tour.

Have you read Dark and Shallow Lies? What are your thoughts on the book? Let me know in the comments below!

Published by Danielle

I am a licensed PreK-6 teacher who is also an avid reader and a Cat Mom. I love sharing the joy of reading with all of you!

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain (Top 5 Reasons to Read)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: