Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Bookish News You May Have Missed: May 16-May 22

Please note that some of the following book-related news may seem familiar as it may have already been shared in our stories on Instagram.


Book Title Reveals

Bonesmith by Nicki Pau Preto: Nicki has announced her next YA duology. It will feature an enemies-to-lovers romance, necromancy-esque magic, paranormal occurrences, and a bold heroine. There is no release date other than summer 2023 and no cover yet. We’ll share the cover once it is revealed. Click here for the Goodreads link.

Gallant by V.E. Schwab: Pitched as “#1 New York Times-bestselling author Victoria Schwab weaves a dark and original tale about the place where the world meets its shadow, and the young woman beckoned by both sides. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this stand-alone novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.” Schwab’s new book will be released in March 2022. Click here for the Goodreads link.

Signed/Exclusive Books

Illumicrate’s The Brown Sisters trilogy: The box will include a hardback edition of all three books in The Brown Sisters trilogy (Get a Life, Chloe Brown, Take a Hint, Dani Brown, and Act Your Age, Eve Brown). Each book will include sprayed edges and will be signed by Talia Hibbert. The box costs £50 + shipping & VAT, if applicable. The preorder is open now, and all orders before June 6, 2021 are guaranteed (they will not run out of stock).

OwlCrate’s When the Night Breaks: OwlCrate is offering an exclusive edition of When the Night Breaks by Janella Angeles (sequel to their June 2020 pick, Where Dreams Descend). This exclusive book will not include a dust jacket, but rather the cover will be printed directly on the hardcover. It will also include exclusive end pages and be signed by the author. When the Night Breaks will cost $18.99 USD plus shipping. Keep an eye on Owlcrate’s Instagram page for a sale date.

FairyLoot’s This Poison Heart: FairyLoot is offering an exclusive edition of This Poison Heart by Kalynn Bayron. The book will feature an exclusive, purple cover, custom end pages, sprayed edges, and will be signed by the author. The book will cost £18.99 GBP / $27 USD + shipping and will be offered in both the UK and US Fairy Trove. Active subscribers will get early access on June 15 at 1:00 p.m. BST. The general sale will be on June 16 at 1:00 p.m. BST.

The Bookish Box’s Crave series: The Bookish Box will be creating exclusive books for the Crave series by Tracy Wolff. The box will include copies of Crave, Crush, Covet, and Court (Court will include a bonus chapter). Each book will be signed by the author, have an exclusive and reversible dust jacket, exclusive end pages, stenciled edges, a stamp on the hardcover and interior artwork. Artwork will be done by @avendellart and @dianadworak. The box will cost $148 USD (shipping to the US included). The sale will be on June 4 at 4:00 p.m. PST.

FairyLoot’s The Righteous: FairyLoot will be designing an exclusive copy of The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh (the third book in The Beautiful series). The book will have solid teal sprayed edges and will be signed by the author. The book costs £16.99 GBP / $23.99 USD + shipping and will be available in both the UK and US Fairy Trove. The book is available to order until August 27, and FairyLoot will not run out of stock before then. Currently, the book is listed as ‘Out of Stock’ in the US Fairy Trove as there was an issue with shipping. Keep an eye on Fairyloot’s Instagram page for more information.

The Bookish Box’s Grace and Glory: The Bookish Box is selling an exclusive edition of Grace and Glory by Jennifer L. Armentrout (third book in The Harbinger series). The box will include an exclusive edition of Grace and Glory (signed by JLA, exclusive dust jacket, artwork on the reverse of the dust jacket, and an exclusive hardcover stamp) as well as an exclusive dust jacket set for Storm and Fury and Rage and Ruin. Artwork will be done by @kimcarlika_art and @jemlin_c. The box is currently available for purchase; it costs $45 USD and includes US shipping.

Emboss and Spine’s What We Devour: Emboss and Spine is offering an exclusive edition of What We Devour by Linsey Miller. The book will be a signed, personalized paperback copy with black sprayed edges. The box also includes a bar of soap, wax melts, and the preorder incentive. The box is currently available for purchase; it costs $32 USD plus $8.50 shipping (aka preorder shipping). Rep codes do apply to your purchase, and international buyers will need to message Emboss and Spine to order.

Book Shop News

The Librarian Box’s Empire of the Vampire special edition box: The Librarian Box was able to restock their Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff special edition box. There are now options for a standard box (includes a signed copy of Empire of the Vampire, exclusive dust jacket, stationary item, Northern Virginia snack, a bath item, and a wooden item) and a deluxe box (includes everything in the standard box as well as a drinkware item, a piece of jewelry, some sort of protection for your book, and a cleaning item). The deluxe box is a NEW option and costs $90 USD plus shipping. Both boxes are currently available for purchase.

Book-to-Screen Adaptations

Vampire Academy TV Show: Peacock, NBC’s streaming service, will be adapting Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead into a TV series! Not much has been shared except that the executive producers will be Julie Plec and Marguerite MacIntyre.


If there is any other bookish news that we forgot, please leave it in the comments! We’ll add the news to our list and credit you.

Published by Always, Bookish Lovers

We’re a sister duo and a best friend from Virginia, USA who absolutely love books! We all met while Danielle and Skyler were in college. Danielle and Skyler are teachers and Rachael is aspiring to be a librarian. As well as having a bookstagram, we co-run a blog together where we review books, post unboxings of other subscription boxes, and offer reading resources for parents and educators.

5 thoughts on “Bookish News You May Have Missed: May 16-May 22

    1. I’m crossing my fingers that Julie Plec’s TV adaptation is better than the cheesy movie adaptation. 🤞From the seasons that I’ve watched, I liked Julie’s adaptation of the Vampire Diaries (The Originals was my favorite, though!). I think Vampire Academy is in good hands. – Danielle

      Like

      1. I don’t remember much of the movie. I only watched it once, but I do remember that the movie was really cheesy (worse than Twilight). Unfortunately, the actors and actresses are probably too old to resume their old roles. – Danielle

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: