Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

5 Reasons to Read Cast in Firelight | Blog Tour

I’m so excited to be a part of the Cast in Firelight Blog Tour! Please remember to click the tour banner or the schedule below to access the tour schedule. There are a lot of other amazing bloggers and bookstagrammers who are also a part of the tour.

Title: Cast in Firelight
Author: Dana Swift
Publication Date: January 19, 2021
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Page Count: 448
Goodreads Rating: 4.29

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Dana Swift started making up fantasy worlds when she was eleven years old and hasn’t stopped since. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin, where she earned degrees in English and Advertising. While in college, Dana competed as a saber fencer and learned a thing or two about fighting, parrying and how it feels to fall in love with your sparring partner. She currently lives with said husband in Miami, Florida.

Links
Website: https://www.danaswiftbooks.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/swift_dana
Instagram: https://www.instagram/danaswiftbooks/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19510928.Dana_Swift
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/danaswiftbooks


My Thoughts

All opinions below are my own.

I really enjoyed reading Cast in Firelight. Swift created an interesting magic system that revolved around Gods and Goddesses she created. I love when authors take the time to create an intricate magic system with equally intricate spells that allow the person to use magic. Magic systems that are cool like the one Swift created really enhance a story. I would have loved an explanation at the end of what the spells meant (because I like knowing a lot of things like that), but the story is still amazing without it.

What I really enjoyed was how Swift characterized all of her characters. Adraa wasn’t made out to be a weak, female protagonist who needed a man to save her. She very well could have completed all of her missions on her own in the book, even if she had to die trying. Jatin was an interesting character and I loved learning more and more about him as the story went on. All of her characters were amazing in their own ways, but Adraa and Jatin were my favorite. Their alternating POVs made me want to keep reading because I wanted to know more about what happened to the other when I was finishing one chapter.

Many thanks to Delacorte Press for giving me an early copy to review!


5 Reasons to Read Cast in Firelight

  1. Strong female protagonist
  2. Intricate magic system that is really cool
  3. Sassy characters who kick butt
  4. Fast-paced storyline that keeps you intrigued and wanting to read more
  5. Parents who actually care about the main characters

Where can I buy Cast in Firelight?

You can buy Cast in Firelight at your favorite local bookstore or through one of these links: AmazonBarnes & NobleBook DepositoryIndieBound, or Indigo.

Is there a giveaway?

YES! One US reader will win a finished copy of Cast in Firelight. The last day to enter the giveaway is January 25, 2021. Go enter today: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/fc15a59516/

Be sure to check out the rest of the TBR and Beyond blog tour for Cast in Firelight! You can either click here or on the blog tour banner found above to see the other blogs that are participating in the blog tour.

What are your thoughts on Cast in Firelight? What would be your top five reasons to read Cast in Firelight? If you haven’t had a chance to read the book yet, will you be adding it to your TBR? Let us know in the comments!

Published by Rachael

Hello, all! I'm 1/3 of Always, Bookish Lovers. Currently, I will be starting work in October at a public library in my area. In the near future, I plan to go back to school to get a Masters in Library and Information Science so I can become a librarian. Along with the blog, I'm pretty active on Instagram. If you'd like to check out our Instagram, it is linked below for you.

One thought on “5 Reasons to Read Cast in Firelight | Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: