Blog Tour | A Curse of Gold by Annie Sullivan (Review and Favorite Quotes)

Title: A Curse of Gold
Author: Annie Sullivan
Publication Date: September 22, 2020
Publisher: Blink
Page Count: 352
Goodreads Rating: 3.78

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Synopsis
Curses and queens. Pirates and kings. Gods and magic. This highly anticipated sequel to Annie Sullivan’s enchanting A Touch of Gold, the story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold, is the gripping crescendo to this sweeping fantasy adventure. The final saga of a cursed queen, a vengeful Greek god, and a dazzling kingdom in the balance.
After barely surviving thieving, bloodthirsty pirates and a harrowing quest at sea to retrieve her stolen treasure, Kora finds readjusting to palace life just as deadly. Kora’s people openly turn against her, threatening her overthrow as heir to the throne—a cursed queen who has angered Dionysus. When Dionysus puts out a challenge to kill the girl with the golden touch and burn down her kingdom, it’s not just her future on the throne in danger. Kora’s life and entire kingdom are now on contract.
As bold and brave as ever, Kora sets out to find Dionysus, the very person who is trying to kill her, on the mysterious disappearing island of Jipper. Kora has no other choice. If she wants to save her kingdom and have any chance at reversing her father’s curse, she will have to enter into a deadly game with Dionysus, the greatest trickster the world, or the underworld, has ever seen.

A Curse of Gold:
-Is the highly-anticipated sequel to A Touch of Gold by author Annie Sullivan
-Is an enchanting and captivating fantasy adventure/fairy tale retelling, perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Cinder
-Is told from the perspective of Kora, King Midas’s daughter and a strong female protagonist
-Features a beautifully decorated cover

Annie Sullivan is the author of the young adult novels A Touch of Gold, Tiger Queen, and A Curse of Gold. She lives in Indianapolis, Indiana, and she loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s working as the Senior Copywriter at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. She loves to hear from fans, and you can reach her via the contact form on this website or on Twitter and Instagram.
Links
-Website: https://anniesullivanauthor.com/
-Twitter: https://twitter.com/annsulliva
-Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/annsulliva/
-Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAnnieSullivan/
-Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4135488.Annie_Sullivan


My Thoughts

Hi, Rachael here! I am participating in TBR and Beyond’s blog tour for A Curse of Gold. For my stop on the blog tour, I will be sharing a review of A Curse of Gold as well as some of my favorite quotes from the novel. A list of my favorite quotes can be found below my review of the book. If you have read A Curse of Gold, be sure to share your favorite quotes in the comments!

I really enjoyed reading A Curse of Gold, probably even more so than A Touch of Gold. For me, Sullivan’s characters were the driving force that made the sequel such a more interesting read. Although many familiar faces from A Touch of Gold appear in the sequel, Sullivan also introduced readers to some new characters. Out of all the new characters, my favorite was Triton. His sarcasm and wit were a perfect addition to Sullivan’s cast of characters! I really liked that readers could see how Triton was affected from his experiences with Kora and Royce’s crew. Triton’s arc was beautifully written, making him appear more human and endearing him to readers.

My other favorite character from A Curse of Gold had to be Royce. His really is the perfect boyfriend! (Why are the best boyfriends fictional? Curious minds want to know.) His love for Kora was so pure and readers could clearly tell that he just wanted to do right by her.

As for Kora, she demonstrated significant character growth while she finished her mission that begun in A Touch of Gold. By the conclusion of Sullivan’s duology, Kora had learned how to be a true leader. She went from being seen as just a princess to becoming someone her people could depend on. This kind of growth is my favorite because you can see how the character changes through the course of the novel.


Favorite Quotes

“All paths have different destinations. Some just lead to them faster and some lead to them not at all.”

“Being a leader requires tough decisions and sacrifices that others aren’t required to make.”

“They love me for what’s inside my heart, not what I look like or what I can offer them.”

It made me think about what people infer based on what is actually before them, and I’d use that as my guide in hopes of getting Dionysus to think he was getting the best of me by only cleansing my father and not me. I’d also purposefully left gaping holes in my bed, and he’d fallen right onto them in his bid to outsmart me.

He was ruler of the ocean, and he’d used his power to save us. His friends. To give me a chance to go back and rule.


Where can I buy A Curse of Gold?

You can buy A Curse of Gold at your favorite local bookstore or through one of these links: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, or Indigo. If you do preorder the book, make sure to submit your receipt by today, September 21, 2020, to ensure that you receive the preorder incentive. Information regarding the preorder incentive can be found here.

Be sure to check out the rest of the TBR and Beyond blog tour for A Curse of Gold! You can either click here or on the blog tour banner found above to see the other blogs that are participating in the blog tour.

What are your thoughts on A Curse of Gold? Do you have a favorite quote? If you haven’t had a chance to read the book yet, will you be adding it to your TBR? Let us know in the comments!

Published by Rachael

Hello, all! I'm 1/3 of Always, Bookish Lovers. Currently, I will be starting work in October at a public library in my area. In the near future, I plan to go back to school to get a Masters in Library and Information Science so I can become a librarian. Along with the blog, I'm pretty active on Instagram. If you'd like to check out our Instagram, it is linked below for you.

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour | A Curse of Gold by Annie Sullivan (Review and Favorite Quotes)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: